Shock and Shame

by fmhilton

To be honest, I’m not really thinking very clearly right now. I’m in the place where shock has not yet taken hold, in despair, in that zone where even Rod Serling would be comfortable.

The Twilight Zone-only this time, it’s called the United States of America.

There really are no comforting words to be had. I can’t think of any, and I dare say most editorial writers feel the same. It’s just too bizarre and unreal to even begin to plumb the depths of this election.

As Paul Krugman wrote last night, we really didn’t know our fellow Americans-how they could possibly have voted for the most unfit person on the planet to be President.

Are they that unhinged, that uncomfortable when faced with the prospect of having had a woman become President? Are they that racist? Are they that xenophobic to buy into the idea that building a wall to keep out people is actually going to work?

I think they are. I think we have just done the ultimate sin, and the Founders of this country would hang their heads in shame if they knew what we’ve just done.

It’s enough to make you cry.

It’s enough to make people really despair over this country-and with damned good reason.

I know I am in that uncharted territory, where I am no longer considered a citizen of this country because I voted for a woman, and not someone who insults on Twitter.

All I can say is that I have never been this despondent. This is the result of having had our educational system dumbed down, our system of government paralyzed for the sake of political end-gaming.

I can no longer be proud to be an American and I am not.

So, for all of you who read my blog, I apologize for not being more witty, succinct or wise.

I can’t do that anymore, when faced with the fact that America is now a total laughingstock.

So I will go off and cry in the corner, and hope we can survive as a nation for 4 years of Donald Trump as President.

We are so screwed.

