Relentless

by fmhilton

A friend of mine recently described me as that in posting items and my beliefs about Donald Trump, and I agreed with their assessment wholeheartedly.

I’m not normally one of those people called a SJW (Social Justice Warrior), but this election cycle has brought out of my most dominant traits-to get radical, and over-the-top in making myself obnoxious.

Because I believe that it is the duty of every American to express their opinion, to make sure their voice is not drowned out in the avalanche of media blitz, cat and name calling that has become so endemic in this election.

It is my right as an American to do this. It’s guaranteed by the Bill of Rights, by the Constitution and by our history as a country.

People have fought and died for this right. They sacrificed their lives to allow me the privilege of being allowed to express my political beliefs.

More people need to stand up for their right to be heard. Sure, this election has brought out the very worst and awful emotions in people in this country. It has polarized entire sections of this country. It has brought hate speech and actions to the forefront. It has made enemies out of former friends, shattered the idea that we’re all of one mind, one country, one set of beliefs.

I don’t care if you vote for Donald Trump. Sure, I don’t like him, or his values, ‘vision’ or his words and actions.

What I do know is that with the possibility that he could be elected to the Presidency of the United States, my right to be heard might just be endangered and erased by it. That I and millions of other Americans who feel the same way would be told to shut up and go back to the kitchen is the most terrible idea that has ever been expressed.

It is plainly not the “American Way”. It would lead to consequences so terrible that we would suffer as a people, and country. We would lose too much by allowing it to happen.

So when I go on Facebook to post another opinion, to say what I really feel about this election, these candidates, that man, it is only because I have the right to do so.

I won’t allow anyone to stop me.

It is my right, and my duty as an American not only to express my opinion, but also to put those words into action by voting my conscience. I have done so.

Our country was founded on this.

Vote as if your citizenship is the most important thing in the world.

Because it is. Others have come to this country because of our freedom to be able to vote. They were denied that right in their country of origin. They were repressed, jailed and some never even made it because they died in the attempt.

We have a choice: to stand up and be heard, or to let it all pass by without action.

It’s up to all of us.

VOTE!

