I am Charlie

by fmhilton

Preface: Today there was a horrific assassination of 12 people at the offices of the satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo in Paris, by Islamic militants who gunned them down. 4 of the victims were renowned cartoonists.

All for the reason of exercising their right to freedom of speech.

trivial personal fact:
My great-grandfather was Charles A. LaChaussee, who escaped from the Siege of Paris with his mother in 1871.

He later became a newspaperman and news editor. His nickname was, of course, Charlie. He would be undoubtedly horrified to know that freedom of speech is being attacked by those who would silence all who exercise it.

I like to think he’d be on Twitter today to post #JeSuisCharlie. I’m sure that he’d be in the streets of Paris with a pen upheld in both hands. He fervently believed in free speech and the power of the press.

Although he’s not here, in his honor and for those who died today, I dedicate this post.

“I would prefer to die standing than live on my knees.” Stephan Charbonnier

