Four More Years of Stupid

by fmhilton

It is with a very heavy heart that I write this piece. My faith in my fellow Mainers and their sense of correct behavior has been utterly, and totally destroyed.

48% of the voting populace decided that Paul LePage deserved a second term. As you probably are aware, I did not, and was very passionate about it.

I even went to the trouble of same-day registration in order to vote against him.

It went for naught.

I just still cannot understand how anyone could have voted in true conscience for him.

He represents everything that is wrong about the country and it’s mindset.

I don’t know for sure, but I think these are the reasons people did vote for him:

1. He was loud. Loud gets you noticed. Obnoxious gets you noticed too, but in the wrong bars, it can get you into fights. He wasn’t in a bar, but he might as well have been. He’s more like that “weird uncle” that you try to get rid of as soon as you can at the Christmas family get-together because he’s just too embarrassing to admit being related to. Of course his campaign cleaned up his act for the duration, but rest assured, he will be back in his usual form in a few days.

2. He preyed on the fear that everyone is stealing your money. The government, the poor people, the ‘lazy, shiftless’ ones that we all see in dark alleys sleeping off a drunken binge.

3. For all of its’ perceived ‘liberalism’, Maine is still very, very homophobic. Mike Michaud is gay, and that did not go unnoticed. Thankfully LePage didn’t make an issue of it, but he didn’t have to. Michaud didn’t either, but it became known, and I’m sure that there are a lot of people who would rather not have one of those ‘others’ running this state.

4. Obama is President. I will tell you this as well-Maine is extremely white. 95% of the population is white, and there are some in this state who are very prejudiced. Nothing is going to change that. It’s an ugly facet of our state, one that would rather not be remembered..but if you’re interested, look up Malaga Island and see what we’re capable of. It’s a shameful reminder of how far we have not come in 100 years.

For the first time in my life in this state, I’m deeply ashamed of living here. I wasn’t born here, and would be considered a ‘transplant’ by most ‘natives’. For once, I’m very glad that I was not. This state has become a joke in this nation, and it’s not going to get any better soon-because some people were stupid enough to vote for a stupid, ignorant man who has the meanest streak of any politician I’ve ever seen. They think they were voting for their funny uncle. I was voting against a bully and braggart who has the IQ of a goldfish on his good days.

So, if you’re looking to retire here, don’t. If you want to vacation here, don’t. If you want to move your business here, don’t. Really. Avoid us like the plague. This state is pretty, but some of the people aren’t.

We don’t deserve your money, or time of day. A lot of us are stupid, racist homophobic idiots who think that Paul LePage deserved re-election.

Our new motto now is “Maine-the way life could have been, but we really don’t care.”

