One True Hero

by fmhilton

I don’t go in much for heroes. I usually have no use for them, because they betray themselves eventually into being ordinary human beings, with problems and issues like all humans have.

My father, when he was alive, was actually my personal (and others) hero. He was a paratrooper in WWII-and got the Bronze Star for his heroism in the Ardennes during the Battle of the Bulge. He led his battered company of men through enemy lines to safety.

His heroics were written about in “A Blood-Dimmed Tide“, by Gerald Astor. For many of the people who knew him, he was a hero in real life.

I’ve not met many other people who could claim the same kind of bravery-until yesterday-and I think I can safely say that he would agree with me that Edward Snowden is a hero, although there are those who would vehemently disagree with that opinion.

For Edward Snowden has exposed the true nature of the NSA and the United States government in using the so-called “Patriot Act” to destroy our constitutional rights step by step.

There are those who will state that his actions are those of a traitor. I disagree. For anyone to take on the biggest intelligence agency in the world, knowing that he will eventually be caught, is not an act of treason.

To expose the lies takes courage-especially when one understands that in the end, it might not change anything.

He stepped out of his role as an intelligence operative and became more. He was paid very well in his job. He had a good life, and enviable prospects for the future.

He gave it up for the most certain revenge and punishment that will inevitably come when the United States declares him a ‘enemy of the state’ and captures him.

Why did he do it? Because as he stated in his interview:

“A: The NSA has built an infrastructure that allows it to intercept almost everything. With this capability, the majority of human communications are automatically ingested without targeting. If I wanted to see your emails or your wife’s phone, all I have to do is use intercepts. I can get your emails, passwords, phone records, credit cards.

“”I don’t want to live in a society that does these sort of things … I do not want to live in a world where everything I do and say is recorded. That is not something I am willing to support or live under.

That’s one true hero to me.

Thank you for your sacrifice and bravery, Mr. Snowden. Although many people will not appreciate it, there are those who do. I am one.

