I still miss her: Molly Ivins

by fmhilton

While writing the earlier articles, I felt so inadequate and unworthy of the title of writer. My guiding ‘mentor’, if there could be one, would have to be Molly Ivins, who died in 2007.

Before she died, my own mother-in-law wrote this to me:

You mentioned that you might resort to print and its consequences. Well, I say, go to it. Be another Molly Ivins–it doesn’t seem to do her any harm. And I say this as a fervent and hysterical fan of Molly Ivins.”

Molly wrote better than anyone I know of. She did it with such style, wit and bravado that it is hard to not miss her during this run-up to next year’s elections, and I just wish with all my heart that she were still here to put great big holes into the Republicans.

• “What you need is sustained outrage…there’s far too much unthinking respect given to authority.”

“It’s like, duh. Just when you thought there wasn’t a dime’s worth of difference between the two parties, the Republicans go and prove you’re wrong.”

• “In Texas, we do not hold high expectations for the [governor’s] office; it’s mostly been occupied by crooks, dorks and the comatose.”

“Good thing we’ve still got politics in Texas — finest form of free entertainment ever invented.”.

“Next time I tell you someone from Texas should not be president of the United States, please pay attention.”.

Selected quotes from her are here.

